Key Facts


Republic of Mauritius

Capital city

Port Louis

Total area

2,040 km sq

Time zone

+4 GMT

Official Language


Business Languages

English and French


1.3 million



Inflation in year 2015


GDP in year 2015

14 billion USD

Sectoral contribution to GDP in year 2015

Landholdings and real estate   10%

Financial services including insurance  16%

Information Technology and communication 9%

Tourism and hospitality 10%

Trading activities  18%

Construction 8%

Manufacturing 22%

Agriculture 7%

GDP per capita in year 2015

8,900  USD

GDP growth in year 2015


Investment rate in year 2015


Major international memberships

African Union, Southern African Development Community (SADC) , The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), TRIPARTITE SADC COMESA EAC, Indian Ocean Regional Association (IORA), Indian Ocean Commission (IOC), Commonwealth, Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie (IFO).

Investment Promotion and Protection Agreements ratified with the following countries


Barbados, Belgium, Luxemburg Economic Union, Burundi, China, Czech Republic, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Kuwait, Madagascar, Mozambique, Pakistan, Portugal, Republic of Congo, Republic of Korea, Romania, Sénégal, Singapore, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, Tanzania, U.K and Northern Ireland, Zambia

Double Taxation Agreements -
Mauritius has concluded 43 tax treaties while some are still under negotiation, the countries which agreements are currently in force are the following

Australia, Barbados, Belgium, Botswana, Congo, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, France, Germany, Guernsey, India, Italy, Kuwait, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malaysia, Malta, Monaco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Oman, 

Pakistan, People's Republic of Bangladesh, People's Republic of China, Rwanda, Senegal, Seychelles, Singapore, Sri Lanka, South Africa, 

State of Qatar, Swaziland, Sweden, Thailand, Tunisia, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Zambia, Zimbabwe.